March 13th: On this day

Born on this day in West Plains, Missouri, was Jan Howard country music singer and Grand Ole Opry star. Howard’s biggest hit and signature song is the 1966 country hit “Evil on Your Mind”, which peaked at #5 on the Billboard country charts.

Born on this day in Doniphan, Missouri, was Billy Yates, singer, songwriter. Yates co-wrote George Jones’ singles “I Don’t Need Your Rockin’ Chair” and “Choices”.

Winners at the Academy of Country Music Awards hosted by Dick Clark from Knott’s Berry Farm Buena Park included: Top Female Vocalist of the Year – Loretta Lynn, Top Male Vocalist of the Year – Freddie Hart, Most Promising Female Vocalist of the Year – Barbara Mandell, Top Television Personality of the Year – Glen Campbell and Song of the Year – Freddie Hart “Easy Lovin'”.

George Jones and Tammy Wynette divoced after 6 years of marrage. The couple had married in 1969.

Willie Nelson was at #1 on the country chart with “My Heroes Have Always Been Cowboys”, the title of a song from the soundtrack to the 1979 film The Electric Horseman, (starring Robert Redford and Jane Fonda and directed by Sydney Pollack). Written by Sharon Vaughn, it become his fifth #1.

George Strait was at #1 on the country chart with Ocean Front Property, his seventh studio album and Strait’s first to debut at #1 on the Billboard Top Country Albums Chart. It was ranked #5 on CMT’s list of 40 Greatest Albums in Country Musicin 2006.

Rascal Flatts were at #1 on the US Country music album chart with Feels Like Today,which as now sold over 5m copies in the US alone.

Lady Antebellum were at #1 on the US County chart with Own the Night which won the Grammy Award for Best Country Album at the 54th Grammy Awards. Four singles were released from the album; “Just a Kiss”, “We Owned the Night”, “Dancin’ Away with My Heart” and “Wanted You More”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>